Worlds Dangerous Animals..

My daughter loves animals and she loves to go near them.. and pat them…. and get licked by them… much to my exasperation!

The other day we went to this Heritage farm in Salt Lake City called – This is the Place Heritage Park (http://www.thisistheplace.org/)  just opposite the Hogle Zoo. The Park basically had a heritage setting depicting the story of the journey of the Mormon Saints from Iowa and Nebraska all the way to Utah where they established settlements. We had a lovely time and baby had a blast..so much so that she even got sneezed on by one of the horses…

emma horse

I’ve grown to love dogs and animals in general after my marriage to a huge animal lover that is my husband and his family who loove loove loooove pets.

While pondering about my daughter and how I can teach her to maybe maintain a healthy distance from animals, this image was sent to me by my Uncle John..very alert world citizen and doting father…

 

 

Image Courtesy: Leny Bernstein

No, Im no misanthropist..I believe in the inherent goodness of my fellow human beings and sometimes to a fault. In most situations I try to think from the other persons point of view. Also my ‘let’s try and look at this  by stepping into the other persons shoes mode’  and the weird justifications I have come up on behalf of the villains during our ‘gossip sessions’ have been a good source of ‘entertainment’ for my friends ( Im sure every group has a friend like me)

Yes, we are all aware  through the media and specially the news of the brutalities going on in the world around us and the millions of deaths caused by man and otherwise. Then again, when the figures are extrapolated on a chart such as the above it is disturbing.

So while I teach my daughter how to maintain a safe distance from her four legged friends let me also start to instill in her those ethical and moral values of respect, tolerance, honesty , integrity, self control, compassion and empathy for mankind..A small drop in the ocean I know..but reminds me of this quote by Mother Teresa

We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean.But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop

 

 

Author: Nishi

Lifes imperfections give you those wonderful brainwaves which translate to stories and poems that enlighten and entertain.

6 thoughts on “Worlds Dangerous Animals..”

  1. Good One… In today’s technology world, we all face a challenge of instilling these values in our kids. I wish you success, and wish myself success too… 😛 :P.

    1. Apparently they are less dangerous than humans…you wouldve loved the horses they had here at the farm and Cookie could go on a pony ride… 🙂

Heyy...so what do you think? :)

