Geri and Sopi

Im a mom again!!..only this time its not a human baby….. they are baby plants and Ive named them Geri and Sopi..

Okay, I know you must think Im a little crazy here but rest assured Im fine..Im just very excited I was able to bring these lil gals (flowers are bisexual yes, but I prefer to think these beauties are girls.. :)) home yesterday after the Tulip Festival at Thanksgiving Point. It was simply breathtaking to see the tulips in full bloom spread across acres and acres in a myriad of colours – red, peach, white, yellow, pink they had them all.

Geri and Sopi are not tulips though..Geri is a Geranium and she is a very lovely salmon colour. She caught my fancy the moment I set eyes on her..Sopi however is a Soprano (no connection whatsoever with the TV show The Sopranos..sorry guys that’s how TV addicted my mind has gotten of all the sopranos the show name is what struck me first)....Sopranos are a hybrid flower  and look like a daisy. Sopi was my husbands favorite and is a light purple almost lavender colour.

I’m not sure if I have a green thumb. I’ve never tended to a plant . My only experience in gardening is watering the plants in my grandmother’s garden as a kid..But, just as you would with a human baby, I was nervous and excited to bring them home and wanted to do all the right things to see to it that they were happy and healthy little plants…I spoke to the lady at the green house and found out what formula fertilizer we had to get, what the feeding watering schedule had to be like and how much sunlight/fresh air was required.

Gardening as I mentioned runs in the family..My grandmother loved her garden. Her plants were like her children to her…No, I think they were more dear to her than her own children; so much so that if she ever had to travel to visit any of her daughters or relatives and if the visit extended to an overnight stay the late evening telephone conversation back home with my mother (her daughter) would be as follows….

Mum: Hello

Grandmum: Hello

Mum: Hi mum, so hows it going?

Grandmum: Did you water the plants in the evening?

Mum: Uh, yes..so how are you?

Grandmum: Did you prune the orchids like I told you?

Mum: Yes, mum I did.

Grandmum: Oh okay then..bye…(She hangs up)

Mum: (to the dead offhook beep)  ..me and the kids are doing great by the way…

I don’t plan on going all fanatical about plants like Grandmum but yes I love my new plants and hope to give them a nice home…here is what they look like..

Image

Arent they adorable! …Am I turning into my grandmother? Don’t think I raved over my daughter as much when she was born…will do the psychoanalysis later..

Do share your stories about plants and gardens at home..would love to hear them..

Author: Nishi

Lifes imperfections give you those wonderful brainwaves which translate to stories and poems that enlighten and entertain.

14 thoughts on “Geri and Sopi”

  1. Sorry but I have absolutely no gardening skills but do appreciate those of others. Here in my little village, in the south of France, there is no garden attached to my house but it seems as if the whole village is my garden.

    Thank you for choosing to follow one of my blogs. I hope you continue to enjoy the posts and I wish you much success with your own.

    Léa

    1. Thank you very much Lea for your comment, as I understand you dont need too many skills except the desire to nurture..can imagine how beautiful your village must be and how lucky you are to be living in the midst of all that beauty..
      Loved your blog ..France is a place I dream of visiting some day, a country which for the time being shall enjoy vicariously through your blog..

      Thank you 🙂

      Nishi

    1. 😀 Glad you liked..much easier than coming up with a baby name I can tell you that…And dear its never too late to get a little flower pot for the windowsill….

  2. We are in the middle of a go green month at work.Net result: I have a little plant on my desk,that HAS to survive the next month.No green thumb,so wish me luck 😀 I love the flowers nik nish…y no tulips tho?

    1. Dont know if Tulips would grow in a pot just bought these from the greenhouse there..mine have survived so far been watering them and feeding them powdered eggshells..fingers crossed ..would be heartif they didnt survive..All the best to you Anj..try putting in some tea/coffee grinds or powdered egg shells and water…should help them last the mnth and many more.. 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Showcase

Heyy...so what do you think? :)

