Monday rambles -Supermoon and Supermom

So its time for the Monday rambles! Yet another week starts and we step into the latter half of July..One word to describe a typical July afternoon – scorching heat..sorry two words..step out in the afternoons and you feel your skin burn.Sunscreen is definitely my best friend these days.

Did you see the ‘Supermoon’ on Friday? For those who didnt, the Super moon a.k.a the ‘perigee moon’ “is the closest approach of the moon on its elliptical orbit around the earth resulting in the largest apparent size of the lunar disk as seen from the earth” (courtesy Wikipedia) 

We were just returning after dinner Friday night and as we were driving back home after ice cream at Cold Stone we got this magnificent view of the moon over the mountains. Sure Ive seen a full moon before but what was so amazing was the apparent proximity and the view as we saw it –  this looming luminous disk right in the middle of two mountains..grey peaks set against the black night sky and there she shone this perfect round iridescent wonderment..Technically,it’s described as an optical illusion but the moon couldnt look any more real than it did that night.

The husband rushed back home, grabbed his camera and drove back to the ice cream place to get a shot of the view, only to realise that, at the end of all that frantic rushing up and down four flights of stairs he had forgotten to load the batteries!!..All hope is not lost. As per NASA the next supermoon will appear on August 10 and September 9. For the time being guess I’ll be happy feasting my eyes on the pictures posted online

next-supermoon-10-august-2014.jpg (558×456)Coming to the second part of my rambles. Am I a supermom? No, I don’t think so. Im just trying to be the best mum I possibly can. But I do know a couple of supermoms who raise their kids and manage full time jobs all on their own.Its wonderful to see them and looking at the way they’ve got it all down to a T is nothing short of inspiring.

super-mom.jpg (123×222)

Looking back to how I used to be ten years ago, my twenty year old self would’ve balked and guffawed at the idea of kids..Kids were smelly trouble makers…as long as they were at a safe enough distance where they wouldn’t pull your hair, throw you off balance or swing things in your direction I would look and smile at them in fake admiration. I guess inspite of the fact that I had matured physically, emotionally I was just an immature child who couldn’t take care of herself and had neither the affinity nor the time to care for another human being.

This weekend a very dear friend of mine, D confirmed that she was expecting her first child and it was the best news I’ve heard from her in a long time. My twenty year old self would’ve thought that I had lost her now and that her life had come to an end..but as a mother myself I realize that her life is now taking a turn for the best.

At thirty I believe these little human beings are life changers. They make you feel and perceive things you’ve never felt or perceived before. They give you a better appreciation for yourself and for the world around you. I’ve never loved myself more than I do now. Children bring out that certain kind of love you may never have thought you were capable of – unconditional, always present, powerful..Isn’t this what makes God the greatest parent?!

Okay this was supposed to be short …Have a great week guys!

 

 

 

Author: Nishi

Lifes imperfections give you those wonderful brainwaves which translate to stories and poems that enlighten and entertain.

8 thoughts on “Monday rambles -Supermoon and Supermom”

  1. Motherhood is amazing, but to be Grandparent is priceless 🙂 Your maturity allows you see things from a different perspective and appreciate life to the fullest! All you shoulda, coulda done with your kids are know the spoils of your grand kids 😀

Heyy...so what do you think? :)

