Monday Rambles – There are Two(?) types of cooks.

Hello! Howdy, how is everyone this Monday morning? It’s very bright and sunny Monday morning and in a couple of weeks it will soon be fall – our first in Salt Lake City. Fall is one of my favorite times of the year. I came to the U.S during a fall two years back and fall in the south was simply lovely with the golds and reds on the trees and mornings that are not too cold nor too hot just like I like my morning cup of tea! Which brings me to the topic of today’s Monday morning rambles.

1567027-bigthumbnail.jpg (450×427)
image courtesy: cachedesktopnexus.com

For the purpose of this post I did a random Google search for types of cooks and could come up with nothing except that there were roughly three main levels of Chefs (Line, Sous, Executive). Now those are gifted individuals – professionals who for a living conjure up heavenly delicacies in world class kitchens and present them to you on a plate like it were a work of art.

But I wanted to write about our everyday cooks – our mothers (or in some cases fathers) or grandmothers whose food to this day evoke feelings of nostalgia and make your taste buds yearn for those delicious home cooked meals, Those under appreciated and unsung ‘master chefs’ whose hours of toiling in the kitchen have shaped our epicurean tastes.

woman_in_the_kitchen_8x10_oil_on_board_framed_figurative__figurative__9679b5bfe7cf32bd2b13677008c05381.jpg (475×377)
image courtesy: dailypainters.com

From deep, intense observation over the years ( *wink*) I understand these are the classification of cooks

1. Intuitive Cooks – The artists of the cooking world who are able to use ingredients like colours on a palette and intuitively create culinary masterpieces. Their faculties of intuition  are so strongly developed from years of cooking experience they have now evolved to the status of Wizards of the Kitchen.

wizard of the kitchen
image courtesy: http://www.buzzplay.com

2. Meticulous Cooks – The scientists and engineers of the cooking world for whom cooking is a science. Recipe books are guides and Gordon Ramsay their Archimedes. All ingredients are measured to the tiniest ounce and milligram and workstations  counter tops set in proper order even before they start their cooking experiment

140711_SCI_womenscientistscoldwar.jpg.CROP.original-original.jpg (590×421)
image courtesy:www.slate.com

Then there is the third category of cooks, the category that I fall under – The Lazy Cook. Not that I hold that up as a badge of any sort. My laziness is definitely not something I’m proud of..but let’s just say as much as I’d love to be a Martha Stewart or Julia Child I like to spend my time in a place other than the kitchen.

So how I go about my daily cooking is by throwing together ingredients in a haphazard fashion assuming that they will magically blend together and create the perfect curry. However, the ‘magic’ doesn’t always happen and ‘the proof of the pudding’ is normally the husbands reaction.

Which brings us, ladies and gentlemen to the indisputable fact that ‘the way to a man’s heart’ is truly through is stomach – a route I reluctantly traverse.So if this were an experiment to prove the authenticity of the proverb, my kitchen was the lab, my husband the test subject – on days that by stroke of luck my food tastes great the husband is as sweet and angelic as a newborn baby sleeping peacefully in a cradle but on those other days he totally flips and ages considerably into the grumpiest grandpa alive! The Curious Case of Benjamin Button ? Nope, just a scene from dinner at the house…Hence we arrive at the end of the experiment and can safely deduce- (the picture  below is self explanatory)

Food-T-Shirt-for-Men.jpg (964×480)
image courtesy: blog.borderlinx.com

My guests are more fortunate though, when it comes to inviting friends home, I turn into the category 2 cook yes, the Meticulous type with recipe books and notes from mum and mum -in- law all stacked side by side. So maybe I am just not trying on a daily basis and maybe I am taking the husband for granted every now and then.

So what type of cook are you? I hope you all have a great week!

Author: Nishi

Lifes imperfections give you those wonderful brainwaves which translate to stories and poems that enlighten and entertain.

18 thoughts on “Monday Rambles – There are Two(?) types of cooks.”

  1. I’m definitely the lazy cook…and rather spoiled. I’ve been surrounded much of my life by people who were good cooks (including several guys over the years), and just found it easier to enjoy their cooking than learn to do it myself. When left to my own devices, my “cooking” consists of a lot of salad and two-ingredient entrees. 🙂

    1. Hahahha..Oh my Jen! I totally get you..given a choice I would eat salads for breakfast, lunch and dinner too..But Alas! the husband cant cook..Thank you for dropping by 😀

      1. Ummm…lets say the types who are fabulous cooks in their dreams and fantasies, but cant cook to save their lives – they are also restaurant hoppers and ardent food lovers! Too large a community to ignore u see 😉

      2. Ahh..Im sure your cooking skills are way better than you imagine..methinks this would be a subcategory of ‘Lazy Cooks’. 😀 thank you darling!

  2. I think it’s okay even if you are a lazy cook…at least you can cook…I know girls who don’t know how to cook…I love cooking if I am not reading writing thn I am definitely cooking…I love experiments in kitchen…it sort of comes naturally to me…but my husband’s way to heart doesn’t go via stomach…my hubby is not at all foodie 🙂

    1. Lucky you Aarya! I do know a couple of women whose husbands aren’t fussy about food but nevertheless you seem to have a passion for cooking which is definitely a wonderful thing..I’ve heard cooking can be therapeutic..:) thank you once again!

  3. None of the above, am I. I simply can not cook for the life of me, Nishi. Fortunately I have a partner who loves to cook, so I’m not going hungry or living on ready meals. I have tried cooking but always with disastrous results!

        1. 🙂 haha all the best! Looking forward to seeing them.. 😀 didn’t mean looking forward to seeing your kitchen disaster but more like if I can ‘cook’ anyone can so maybe this time you just might get lucky!

Heyy...so what do you think? :)

