Wham…Christmas song

One of my earliest memories of a Christmas song (apart from the carols of course) is ‘Last Christmas’ by Wham!

wham.jpg (628×874)
Sigh!

 The song was released in 1984, the year I was born and topped the charts in the UK and was the No.1 song in several countries that year. As a girl,  I remember hearing this song playing on the radio on Christmas morning as the house filled with mummy’s Christmas cooking and me and my brother sneaked into the kitchen and stole brownies from the cake tin.

But coming back to the song, I remember as a kid wondering what my then crush George Micheal (way before he came out to the world as being gay and not that I would’ve understood it at that time) was singing about giving his heart away and what that had to do with Christmas.

Years later as I grew older and many an infatuation and a heartbreak later I began to understand the meaning of the lyrics and how the song talks about unrequited love and hope.

unrequited-love-heartbreak1.jpg (250×250)

Rejection from a person you love is a gut wrenching/agonizing feeling. When you realize it has happened, you not only hate the person you were ‘in love’ with  but also – yourself…and then even your roommates begin to hate you because you chose to just mope around and not shower.

29795144.jpg (400×300)

You feel confused and broken and you treat yourself like a lab rat in a cage poking and prodding – trying to analyze and dissect aspects of your personality that may have led to the rejection.

r1269207_17079423.jpg (840×781)
I’m watching you..

 But its a sad truth that sometimes people you care a lot about don’t care as much about you and vice versa. Psychologists attribute this tendency to a primitive masochistic gene that sometimes rears its ugly head in our personalities.Sometimes ‘People reject the most thoughtful, most caring, most loving people in their lives’..It happens and I would agree with Taylor Swift when she says you just gotta- ‘Shake it Off’

anigif_enhanced-15122-1408465620-2.gif (500×280)

With Christmas round the corner this is a time to throw the past behind you and to solidify your sense of self worth and to call on your special strengths…

Go grab that yoga mat and just breaathe…now slowly open your eyes put the pieces of your exquisite crystal heart back together and like George Michael sings reserve it ‘to give to someone special’..

mistletoeREX_228x357.jpg (228×357)

Until next time please do enjoy the song!

“Last Christmas”

 

[Chorus (2x):]
Last Christmas
I gave you my heart
But the very next day you gave it away.
This year
To save me from tears
I’ll give it to someone special.Once bitten and twice shy
I keep my distance
But you still catch my eye.
Tell me, baby,
Do you recognize me?
Well,
It’s been a year,
It doesn’t surprise me
(Merry Christmas)I wrapped it up and sent it
With a note saying, “I love you,”
I meant it
Now I know what a fool I’ve been.
But if you kissed me now
I know you’d fool me again.[Chorus 2x]Oh, oh, baby.A crowded room,
Friends with tired eyes.
I’m hiding from you
And your soul of ice.
My god I thought you were someone to rely on.
Me? I guess I was a shoulder to cry on.A face on a lover with a fire in his heart.
A man under cover but you tore me apart, ooh-hoo.
Now I’ve found a real love, you’ll never fool me again.[Chorus 2x]A face on a lover with a fire in his heart (I gave you my heart)
A man under cover but you tore him apart
Maybe next year I’ll give it to someone
I’ll give it to someone special.Special…
Someone..
Author: Nishi

Lifes imperfections give you those wonderful brainwaves which translate to stories and poems that enlighten and entertain.

19 thoughts on “Wham…Christmas song”

  1. I always wondered just who the girl George Micael gave his heart to, gave his heart to the next day? I love the video for this song as well, Nishi, as it shouts out at you “look it’s the 1980’s” and don’t you just love the way George and that girl flirt over the dinner table and end up throwing snowballs at each other. Ahh, young love. It brings back so many memories to me as well. Thanks for sharing a classic Christmas song to us.

  2. ahh… that song is a classic! 🙂 As for rejection, well it sucks! and shaking it off is not always so easy but next time i have a thought about whom ever rejected me I will try and sing that song… maybe it will help. 🙂

Heyy...so what do you think? :)

