Monday Rambles – A poem by Christina Rossetti

The temperature seems to hover around fifteen degrees this Monday morning here at Salt lake City..relatively pleasant December morning. The weekend was spent quietly relaxing at home and chores that needed to get done over the weekend got pushed into the week..So while I tick the boxes off my checklist of things to do, I leave you with a poem by the great Christina Rossetti ( 5 December 1830 – 29 December 1894)

December

Dimmest and brightest month am I;

My short days end, my lengthening days begin;

What matters more or less sun in the sky,

When all is sun within?

 

Ivy and privet dark as night,

I weave with hips and haws a cheerful show,

And holly for a beauty and delight,

And milky mistletoe.

 

While high above them all I set

Yet twigs and Christmas roses pure and pale;

Then Spring her snowdrop and her violet

May keep, so sweet and frail;

 

May keep each merry singing bird,

Of all her happy birds that singing build:

For I’ve a carol which some shepherds heard

Once in a wintry feild.

– Christina Rossetti

 

christina_rossetti.jpg (369Γ—480)

Author: Nishi

Lifes imperfections give you those wonderful brainwaves which translate to stories and poems that enlighten and entertain.

7 thoughts on “Monday Rambles – A poem by Christina Rossetti”

Heyy...so what do you think? :)

