Monday Rambles – Easy steps to tackle Holiday Weight !

Ahh..My first ramble for the New Year…Of late I’ve noticed I’m getting slouchy when I sit..Maybe I should sit up straight…Hmm…I’ve placed the cushions to support my back to avoid the slouchiness but What’s that-  an unsightly ‘tire’ around my waist…I run my fingers across my face and I notice my nose is losing definition and my chin seems to have found a buddy..I’ve generally been feeling sluggish lately and my sleep patterns have changed….

Okay, I should just stop and not go further down on this road of self analysis and climb off the weighing machine it led me to… but its obvious – despite all my good intentions I’ve packed on the… ‘Holiday pounds’ (eeek!).

holiday_weight_gain.gif (411×540)

I thank God for winter layering and puffy jackets

c8baf2b2f82a76f5f6bbcedbcc576f11.jpg (500×368)
I wonder what look George was going for here…but it couldn’t get any better than that jacket…

….because they provide an excellent cover up for all my misdeeds…Please no one invite me home for dinner because the heaters  will most likely be on which in turn will force me to let go of my ‘armor’ and you know how unforgiving those knit sweaters can be…I yearn for summer now so that I can just go back to wearing my loose airy tops.

So even if you are a ‘skinny minnie’ or a ‘chubby tubby’ like I am, we all want to lose those reminders of the Cocktails or  desserts or those cheesy casseroles that have so lovingly settled around your mid – section making you look even farther off from your ideal hour glass figure and more like a 1.5 litre bottle of Coke or Sprite or whatever your favorite type of soda is..or worse –

6a00d8354c22ad69e2011571990592970b-800wi (800×790)

Its just a matter of getting in there and battling the bulge – swish swoosh gone! (Who am I kidding,  I wish it were as easy as that but its not…) But let’s focus on doing things RIGHT this New Year and tackle this problem one baby step at a time…

1. No more mindless eating

There are moments when I become one with the food I eat..I love to eat and when a bowl of pasta is presented before me its just me and Mr. Spaghetti..but its high time we broke up with empty calories…Every item of food that you get into your hands and before it enters your mouth has to pass your very logical and sound left brain reasoning. You are not denying yourself or making a sacrifice –  If it’s high in sugar and sodium it most certainly NOT good for you. You could either share it with your colleague or whoever is close by and if they don’t want it just throw it in the bin. I hate to waste food but,you know what – ‘Better go waste than go to the waist

kate.jpg (525×810)

2. There should be Water water everywhere

Water is so crucial and important to weight loss you just cant over emphasize the importance of drinking water. You really can never drink too much water and drinking water not just helps the kidneys work more efficiently in flushing out toxins from your body but it also helps the body to let go of the excess water that it has been holding on to as water weight thanks to all the sugar and salt we consume during the holidays.

The standard 8 glasses of water everyday has changed now everybody needs to drink half an ounce to an ounce for every pound that you weigh…So if you weigh 180 pounds you need to drink 90 ounces to 180 ounces of water every day..Sounds like a lot but the benefits are immense.

3. Take up a Hobby

Winter is hard  and with shorter days  and more time spent indoors. Hobbies that keep your mind and body active will help keep away those emotional triggers that automatically  lead you to the tub of ice cream in the freezer. Taking up a project that keeps your mind active and relieves stress is very important to balancing those hormones that lead to weight gain..So its okay sometimes to be maniacal and just immerse yourself in something you like to do as long as it keeps you from aforementioned freezer.

twilight_s_hobby_by_agufanatic98-d7t508t.png (203×200)

4. You got to move it move it.

.

(Okay did you just do a head dance while you played this video you know where you only move neck up and throw in a couple of weird expressions for effect? Its fun!)

Ahem, now that you’ve stopped watching the video, what I’m trying to say is that nobody lost weight just lying on the couch (unless of course you decide to go under the knife or adopt more radical measures that may lead to more serious consequences to your health and future well being).

weightloss1.jpg (1900×2558)

So cardio and stretching exercises need to be thrown in, in good measure..

Slowly and steadily..

Don’t see it as a chore. Just take up some activity like walking up and down the living room when the commercials are on

OR.. just playing that video we just head danced to and moving more parts of your body and not just the head..’I like to move it move it….

5. Positive affirmations 

3-Positive-Affirmations-to-Enhance-your-Life.jpg (824×382)

Who hasn’t heard about the power of positive thinking…’Whatever the mind of man can conceive and believe, it can acheive’ says Napolean Hill one of the greatest personal success literature authors of all time and most famous for his book ‘Think and Grow Rich’

Conceive a happier healthier version of you for the New Year and keep reinforcing and reaffirming those positive thoughts and Believe me we’ve got this!

Have a great week guys!

Author: Nishi

Lifes imperfections give you those wonderful brainwaves which translate to stories and poems that enlighten and entertain.

17 thoughts on “Monday Rambles – Easy steps to tackle Holiday Weight !”

  1. So glad I’m not the only one that’s gained some poundage from the holidays! I’m using DIY projects as my exercise regime. Not only do I lose weight, but the house gets a makeover. 😉

    1. Hi Eloise! Did you say DIY? Do share pictures of your projects and what a fun way to lose weight..I’m crocheting my way to glory to keep myself occupied and to stay away from the trufflesin the pantry…thank you so much for the comment! ❤

      1. Will do Nishi. I’m doing my younger children’s room. We had fun painting it today and hope to finish it over the next few weeks. I’d love to see what you’re crocheting. Haha, truffles! It’s Guylian Chocolate for me. 😊

      2. Oh That sounds like such a fun family project! I’m working on a shrug right now will send you pics once it’s done..chocolates are such a weakness…why do they need to be so bad for us and yet taste so good! 😥😔😄

    1. Heylo there! Haha well my sympathies to the belly I’m sure it will be making a quick exit…pretty common sensical tips I know guess they need to be put to practice..Thank you Amanda!

  2. Here I am with a cupboard full of chocolate I got for Christmas, doing my best not to open it. There is no way I could have eaten chocolate the size of 15 soccer pitches in 12 days! And now, there are Easter Bunnies and Easter Eggs on the shelves! I need some help as well 🙂

    1. Hahaha..that sounds like a dream stash of chocolate (I mean before I decided to be strong and lose weight)..Maybe you could make cakes or ice cream with them?

      1. Well, I could give it a try but after the recent disaster of my Christmas cake, I don’t think I’m up to much baking. I may just give some of it away. Note I said ‘some’ and not ‘all’. I need to keep a little for comfort. 🙂

Heyy...so what do you think? :)

