Monday Rambles – The Journal and the Writing process

Hey everyone, how has the New Year been? I know…I’ve been MIA, was just taking a small break after the busy holiday season to relax and unwind.

Taking a break is a good thing for the brain because it gives you a fresher and more renewed perspective on how to take your creativity forward. That said, taking a break beyond a certain period of time from a creative hobby can be detrimental as a break will lead you to lose touch and once the inertia sets in its so difficult to drag yourself out of the slump and all the writing you end up doing will be this

Goclist.gif (800×436)
image courtesy: http://www.pajamadiaries.com

As a blogger I feel its important to put out material on a regular basis and by this I don’t mean every single day as this might not be possible because sometimes you need to fulfill the obligations the other roles of our life imposes on us and your family will start sulking and complaining because you’ve served them microwave dinners three nights in a row…Life is afterall, all about balancing our ‘outer’ and ‘inner’ lives. So setting a schedule and not leaving your blog ‘fallow’ for too long is by all means ideal.

Talking about ‘inner’ life, a few days back after Ems had quite surprisingly gone to bed early and the husband was reading/researching something online, I had some time on my hands and I decided that before my writer’s block permanently froze for the whole of winter until spring when it would maybe melt and whatever creative juices were left oozed away never to be seen again, I had to write something!

creativity-cartoon-john-junson.jpg (440×285)

For a change instead of my laptop, I reached out for my new journal that I had bought at Barnes and Nobles for the New Year and started jotting down some ideas for the blog.

With the growing number of electronic contraptions in my life I hadn’t realized that the actual act of writing had fallen in the shadows and here I was ‘Journaling’ after a looong time :D.

As I wrote I felt like I was having a conversation with this ‘little mousy voiced sometimes in- your- face obnoxious person in my head’ (please don’t think I’m crazy)… I jotted down points and ticked those things that I agreed with myself and crossed out those things that I well, disagreed… I scribbled, I doodled, I drew pictures and stick figures and huge animated alphabets with eyes that grinned from line to line. I was having a ball!

Dawdles Doodles apart, as I continued to write things down, I could feel my thoughts were taking concrete shape and suddenly, I felt like a Jungle explorer cutting through the thick Amazon Rainforest leading my team onto a clear jungle path. I seemed to have drawn a tunnel from my outer world and into my inner mind…And I had a list of ‘workable ideas’ … Hurrah!

16544273-cartoon-hand-drawn-yoga-practice-illustration-meditation.jpg (1300×1300)

I may not consider myself as a very “methodical” writer and though for most of the time go about it in a haphazard fashion, deep down I understand that ‘Writing is a process‘ and Brainstorming is the first step – for which a journal is a very handy tool!

the-writing-process-source.jpg (1300×960)
image courtesy: http://www.glogster.com

Writing on a paper or blogging may seem all the same since both have the element of therapy by themselves.

In blogging as we type, words flow from our subconscious and sometimes it even feels like an out of body experience where you feel like an outsider looking inside…you break free from the imaginary shackles that limit and hold you back and that is most possible when you write fiction; but, while writing pieces like this – rambles – I am conscious of myself and have an inner ‘thought auto correct’- editing, constructing, sometimes constricting my thoughts which I don’t think is necessarily a bad thing, but having an opportunity to jot them down helps you get even more closer to your inner voice and your intuition.

Sure, there will be the tech buffs and gadget whizzes who can show me how modern styluses and computer softwares and apps can pretty much do everything that you do with a regular pen and paper on laptops, tablets and smartphones. Don’t get me wrong I am not against technology by any means and I whole heartedly with open arms accept all things into my life (living beings included ;D) that comes with a guarantee to make my life easier and help me save time.

And sure there are our efforts at reducing the ecological footprint. And in my search to find eco friendly recycled paper journals I didn’t have go too far and I found these on Amazon

travel-journals.jpg (700×260)

So, let’s not completely disregard the benefits of maintaining a real journal. Buy one, doodle in them and keep revisiting them every once in a while even if it is just for an hour because it really is a great way to de-stress and get in touch with your inner child. Fewer minutes of streaming ‘Bones’ or ‘Scandal’ or Downton Abbey’ and more streaming ‘stream of consciousness’ and suddenly you have some clarity on the things that have been bothering you because – let’s face it – a major chunk of the problems in our lives can be sorted out with a small shift in perspective.

So, what’s your experience with journaling or with technology? Please do share…And yes – Have a great week folks!

Author: Nishi

Lifes imperfections give you those wonderful brainwaves which translate to stories and poems that enlighten and entertain.

20 thoughts on “Monday Rambles – The Journal and the Writing process”

  1. Well, I carry a notebook in my bag at all times, and you know an actual pen. Sometimes inspiration hits you at the strangest times and if you don’t jot it down right there and then it may be lost.

    Often I write my poetry out first on actual paper before putting it on blog, where I then edit it to perfection. But I find the notebook vital.

    Also when you are studding something, then I find that actually writing it out is very beneficial to keep things in my mind.

    As for an actual Diary, um I don’t really like those. If I can’t put it on my blog, I’d rather not have it written down in the first place. 🙂

    1. Hi Serin! Thank you so much for sharing!..So true, it is indeed nice to have a notebook handy at all times to jot down those sudden bursts of inspiration! I work the opposite way when it comes to poetry..put it down as a draft on the blog first, but great to know other bloggers have different styles.. Lots of love.

  2. Well, it’s great to have to back, Nishi, and what a wonderful post to kick off with.

    I love the way you outlined how you got through what has been happening to you recently and the way you described it.

    “I felt like a Jungle explorer cutting through the thick Amazon Rainforest leading my team onto a clear jungle path. I seemed to have drawn a tunnel from my outer world and into my inner mind…And I had a list of ‘workable ideas’ … Hurrah!”

    I felt I was right behind you going through that Jungle and had every confidence that you were going to find us a way out. And look, you did! 🙂

    A great piece of writing, and it’s lovely to read what you were describing on this journey we call blogging. I tend to use my iPhone when I get ideas and record them on there. Maybe I should write them down and do some doodling in the process?

    Welcome back.

    1. Hey Hugh! Thank you so much! Truly appreciate your comments. I am so glad you liked this post! Writing things down is sometimes the best way to gain perspective and I just thought I should share my thoughts.Ah, so you use technology to jot down your points which is easy and convenient and eco friendly but yes I’m sure you’ll have fun doodling once in a while.. :D..Take care dear..xo

      1. Haha..that was then..Its 2015, who knows, your works may be considered a masterpiece now..unleash your inner three year old I say!.. 😀

  3. Listen nuh! I have a journal for my story ideas, and another journal for my thoughts, and yet another one for budgetary stuff and things I need to do. So yep, I walk around with at least three notebooks in my bag at any time. And sometimes I have bits of scrap paper stapled together for additional uncategorised note-taking. I need serious help. I have notebook upon notebook at home, one for almost every year for at least the last five or so years. And I tend to prefer notebooks rather than journals. I can’t explain why, but a really nice hard-cover, spiral bound notebook with thickish leaves are the perfect present for me. I swoon at the thought.

    PS: I love the first image – it made me literally LOL!
    And the imagery of leading your team through the Amazon of your thoughts was on point! Very lovely post 😉

    1. Wow Lesie I must say you are one Journal Junkie! but seriously what a wonderful obsession! Having a journal for specific purposes must make you one organised and clutter free chick..Thank you so much for sharing dear..and so glad you liked the post been getting some positive reviews for this one..genuinely appreciate the positive strokes!

  4. I have to admit, I plan very little of my writing, and any ideas of mine stay on loop in my head until they are used as I go along…I like to abuse myself like this :S. When it comes to research though, it is all hand written. It seems to stay more conrete that way 🙂

    1. Haha I can totally relate to that but its wonderful that you document your research must help a lot in the novels you are writing Lorelle? Do you have seperate journals when you take up different projects? Thank you so much for sharing!!

  5. Haha! You have penned beautifully! It’s kinda my story too. I do carry a notepad and pen to jot down when an idea strikes. Else, I will scribble on my phablet! 🙂

    1. lol! I’m glad you could relate to this..guess everyone has their way of noting down ideas and brainstorming basically..Thank you so much for dropping by Shalz!

Heyy...so what do you think? :)

