Monday Rambles – On Sadness

What’s up everyone. Last week, despite all my good intentions I couldn’t devote as much time as I would’ve liked to blogging and browsing. You know -You want to do this, end up doing that and as Seinfeld would put it-  yada yada yada..

yada.gif (200×200)

No, I wasn’t watching reruns of Seinfeld but you know those times you feel so down in the dumps, so blue you have no clue, so low you just don’t know what to do ?

So sad and depressed that if a person walked into your room with a gun you’d happily stick it down your throat and pull the trigger (No, you’ve never felt that? Then, that’s just me then…)

C65.gif (339×338)

But what I’m trying to say folks is again nothing new – Emotions are so powerful. I read a quote somewhere last week and now I can’t find it and when paraphrased it goes like – ‘great art is often the result of great sadness’. I agree that sadness is a very deep and strong emotion that when experienced in moderate to high levels, it awakens the poet in you however, when experienced at its peak, it steals the words from your world rendering you mute…which reminds me of the scene in the book Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte where when after her wedding to Mr. Rochester comes to an abrupt end mid ceremony with the revelation that he is already married and  she realizes that all along she has been living under the same roof as his mentally ill wife, she sits on her bed in her wedding dress – ‘too sad to even cry’

michael-fassbender-as-edward-rochester-and-mia-wasikowska-as-jane-eyre-in-jane-eyre-2011-1347741176_b.jpg (500×700)
Michael Fassbender as Mr. Rochester and Mia Wasikowska as Jane Eyre…

I am an eternal optimist and so I will definitely point out that the silver lining in experiencing these temporary troughs in life is it offers you the gift of empathy. You learn to walk in other peoples shoes even if its not your size and you are feeling uncomfortable and to reach out to others and make a meaningful impact in their lives through your words and actions.

I look at lil Em today and I feel this surging emotion of wanting to protect her from all the nastiness in this world. As a parent I want her to be happy ALWAYS even if I know it is not possible and shield her from the meanies and the recreants of the world thinking it would maybe scar her emotionally and psychologically. But this would not be right or possible. She will collect sea shells of good and bad experiences in her little sand bucket as she walks along the sea shore of life….Its inevitable. The only thing I can do as a parent would be to be PRESENT and give her the confidence that my shoulder will always be free for her if she needs me.

So count your blessings and never forget your misfortunes because you tend to draw a lot of wisdom and life lessons from them. And…Write them down.

Author: Nishi

Lifes imperfections give you those wonderful brainwaves which translate to stories and poems that enlighten and entertain.

14 thoughts on “Monday Rambles – On Sadness”

  1. Sorry, to hear you’ve been feeling down in the dumps recently, Nishi. Yes, we all experience sadness, some more than others, but I always tell people to talk about it with another person when they are feeling like that. Talking helps so much. I should know, as I was one of those people who kept everything bottled up, until there was so much build up, I’d laterally explode in the room, and everyone in the room would feel the full force.

    I can’t write when I feel down. The words only seem to come when I am feeling happy and confident. However, like you say, write it down because so often I have not done that and lost what could have been that brilliant piece of work.

    Wishing you a much better week ahead. Here’s a smile to get this better week off to a great start for you. 🙂
    xx

    1. Wow story of my life Hugh! And you are right bottling things up does have serious consequences. I prefer to write when I’m happy too but it helps to draw inspiration from the sadness sometimes..Thank you for that wonderful smile and I wish you a great week too Hugh!xo

      1. It took me along time to learn my lesson but I put that down to being so stubborn. 🙂

        I’d admire anybody who can write when feeling sad. I’ve never been able to do it, and over the years just try and stay positive as much as I can.

        xx

      2. hmm..you are right..it is being stubborn and wanting to deal with all of this on your own rather than share and get a perspective…Thank you luv.

  2. So True Nishi, ” Emotions are powerful” but I have read somewhere that “Life is 10% what happens to you & 90 % of how you react to it ” Need to learn how to take it easy 🙂 Wish I had someone to teach me how to do that though I know instead of waiting for someone to teach us, we should train our self, or” train our emotions” 🙂 Have a happy week ahead

    1. Hi welcome to this space Tara! That is such a profound saying and makes total sense. I guess as time goes by you mature and learn to handle negativity and by controlling the way you react to certain things find out – you find happiness sooner rather than later.Thank you once again..wish you a great week too!

  3. I agree…all you can do is be present for your child and hope she /he gets all the happiness in the world.A friend of mine passed away suddenly recently and it was such a jolt.It put life in perspective for me and I have decided to live in the present.

Heyy...so what do you think? :)

