Monday Rambles – Sound bytes on Personality at the department store

Aloha my lovelies! How are you all doing? I’m sorry I literally didn’t show up the whole of last week..Not that I’m presumptuous enough to assume that my not posting on my blog would cause anyone to go ‘off their rocker’ crazy because they need ‘The Showcase’ fix to light up their day. Though that would be so cool if it were true isnt it? Fabulous Nishi – Transfixing, Transforming…on second thoughts that would hands down be the corniest thing I’ve ever written on this blog don’t you think?..Uh..No, don’t answer that question…

BloggingCartoon5.jpg (400×232)

Moving on, the last week the whole family ( read the husband, lil Ems and I) were a little under the weather and we were mostly at home taking turns at doing steam inhalations and salt water gargles- two most effective ways to eradicate a wily cold or throat irritation especially if you catch it at its early stages and oh yes! those and plenty of fluids…We also set the clocks ahead by an hour last Sunday and embraced our newly extended hours of daylight with open arms and like a caterpillar sheds its cocoon our winter wardrobe has been stacked away until they will be summoned next winter.

animals-sun-summer-warmth-winter_coat-coat-shr0046_low.jpg (400×281)

Moving onto a totally unrelated subject, a few weeks back I overheard the cashier at our local Smiths store speaking to a colleague about a certain other colleague whom we shall call Ms. Sunshine.It was pretty late in the evening and as I was standing in line to pay, Ms. Cashier tells the colleague how everyone just loooves Ms. Sunshine because she is always smiling and being ‘nice’ (as though it was a crime) and then what she said next was the icing on the cake – She said, she thinks that Ms. Sunshine is that way because-wait for it-  she has “No Personality” (!!?)

When it was my turn to pay, Ms. Cashier “acknowleded”  my presence with an expressionless,sideways raised eyebrows glance while chewing her gum open mouthed, rang up my purchase with as much enthusiasm as a Jersey cow standing in a pasture chewing the cud and continued to gossip about Ms. Sunshine to aforementioned colleague while I paid for the goods and ambled on with my bags.

tumblr_n4dy5yeM8B1ql5yr7o1_500.gif (500×281)

Ms. Cashier is not alone. It’s a worldwide phenomena – growing number of people consider ‘being nice’ as being synonymous for ‘being dumb’ or ‘being fake’. Nice people get pushed around and taken for granted. Their smiles and good natures are dubbed as idiotic and uninteresting. Which explains the popularity of the Kardashians and the “Real” Housewives and the Snookis and J Wowws of the world. People accept the rude, the crass and the confrontational and don’t know how to handle the nice.

tumblr_mpzsx0nkdx1qkfspko1_500.gif (500×244)

Going back to Ms. Cashier, just because Ms. Sunshine doesn’t throw an attitude and bombard you with her sound bytes doesn’t mean that she doesn’t have a personality. Isn’t the fact that Ms. Sunshine is ‘nice’ tell us that she is an amicable person with a pleasing personality that people like to be around? And you know what – Ms. Sunshine could actually be the smartest person working in the store because she knows her sunny disposition and cheery charm will actually take her farther in life than Ms. Cashier will ever go with her snooty attitude and terrible manners.

tumblr_m6g2upzy2J1ra3tm1o1_400.jpg (400×341)

Not that I’m writing off our generation because I truly believe that inspite of all the deplorable and disgusting stories we hear and however much we may lament the death of chivalry and the growing materialism of our times; there are a few deep, compassionate and considerate souls on earth who treat people with respect and who don’t see being ‘nice’ as a sign of weakness but rather the superior ability to rise to the occasion and make best of an otherwise hostile man-eat-man world…I just hope they don’t become disillusioned and go extinct.

Never underrate the power of being nice because ‘Nice people’ are always in demand.Tell me isn’t it easier to simply blow your top when you are in a bad mood than to maintain your composure and put on a smile? Businesses even when they formulate cut throat strategies know they would never thrive with shoddy customer service.

no-matter-what-happens-in-life-be-good-to-people-being-good-to-people.gif (550×550)

Leave behind a legacy of being nice. Have a great week folks!

Author: Nishi

Lifes imperfections give you those wonderful brainwaves which translate to stories and poems that enlighten and entertain.

12 thoughts on “Monday Rambles – Sound bytes on Personality at the department store”

  1. Well, I did miss you and definatly wonderd where you went. Me been bit under the weather too, but you know with a bad blog adiction it takes a little more to keep me away, like only no reception or internet access could achieve. 😉

    This is an excellent point. I always try to be nice, even when I’m grumpy.

    1. Lol! thank you so much Serins you made my day..and that sounds like a healthy addiction to have especially if you can whip up a great post fast and quick despite the craziness around you…I was catching up on your blog today and cant believe you’ve already reached Q in your A-Z of Blogging Series!
      And isn’t it difficult to manage that smile even when you are feeling grumpy? Fewer hotheads and more light- headed laughter I say! Hope you feel better soon! ❤

  2. Welcome back, Nishi.

    I love this post. I call it an ‘eves dropping’ post because you are telling us something you were not able not to overhear. I’m amazed sometimes by what I hear from staff and employees when I am in a store or even when waiting on the telephone while they check records and are having a conversation with a colleague, having forgotten to put me on mute. I’ll have to write a post about it sometime because I have heard some pretty strange stuff. However, it’s terrible when they are saying negative things about another of staff they work with, and for all the wrong reasons.

    I like to be nice 99.999999% of the time. It helps to promote love, friendship and positivity in this world of ours.

    1. Haha..Thank you Hugh! I wish I didn’t have to eavesdrop and that they were talking somewhere in private over their coffee break so the entire line of customers that evening didn’t hear..but I guess she just couldn’t contain herself and had to share her ‘personality’ with all of us…and yes you must write that post Hugh..seriously will make for some good laughs I’m sure…
      I believe you when you say you are nice 99.9% of the time..not everyone can vouch for that high a percentage…Cheers to all the nice people of the world!

    1. Hi! Thank you so much for reading and commenting…I’m sure there are many who appreciate you for being positive because to be able to smile often is a gift. Please do stick to what you believe and continue to spread the positive vibes… ❤

  3. So i Thought about it and I absolutely agree!Even at work,I have seen rude obnoxious people move ahead while the cheerful always ready to help ones get walked all over!

    1. Such is the sad state of affairs Anj…If you try being polite and considerate you are seen as a pushover..How I wish things would change… ❤

Heyy...so what do you think? :)

