Monday Rambles – What I hate about the Rain

Monday Rambles time! Hope everyone is enjoying the lovely spring weather. As I sit on my couch looking out the window, I can see the dense dark clouds outside and it is most certainly going to rain today.

I love the lovely earthy scent when the first rain falls on the dry soil – takes me back to the beautiful monsoon mornings in my grandmother’s backyard, the soles of my sandals sinking into the moist, red brown soil; holding the flowers and flicking dew drops off the leaves in her garden which she tended to and loved even more than her children – you can read more about my grandmother and her obsession here.

december-import-801.jpg (4000×3000)

But sorry to say, there ain’t nothing romantic about the rain and here’s why

Rains are the curly haired girls worst enemy. Yes, Just imagine you’ve spent hours styling your lovely tresses only to step out and then it pours! All that time (and product) spent taming your mane goes to waste as all the moisture in the air has done the damage, leaving you looking like this –

frighteningFrizzR.jpg (250×300)

Racoon Eyes…No Thank you. You look at yourself in the mirror and admire your perfect eye make up. You take the train to work and as you step out, it begins to rain. You’ve forgotten your umbrella and decide to face nature head on. As you step into the office you notice people are literally avoiding looking your way and you step into the washroom to ‘freshen up’…and then…you let out a bloodcurdling shriek that has the lady in the rest room cubicle literally jump out mid business…How could you not? Your make up has run all over your face and you look like that kid from the movie – The Grudge

hqdefault.jpg (480×360)

Showers of  Muddies. Don’t you hate walking on the sidewalk headed to work looking all dapper and sharp- chin up, shoulders straight,tummy tucked in, your favorite shoes ‘clickety clacking’ on the concrete and feeling good about all the admiring glaces being thrown your way, smug and happy about your awesome dress sense and impeccable taste..Until…

article-2081141-0F538BA100000578-831_634x416.jpg (634×416)

Why do you love/hate the rain? Do let me know.Have a great week folks!

Author: Nishi

Lifes imperfections give you those wonderful brainwaves which translate to stories and poems that enlighten and entertain.

13 thoughts on “Monday Rambles – What I hate about the Rain”

  1. I can see your point, Nishi.

    Of course it doesn’t affect guys like me who have very short hair, but I do love to hear the sound of the train against the window or on a roof, especially in the middle of the night when I am all tucked up in bed. It always helps me relax for some reason.

    I hope the week becomes dryer for you weather wise.

    1. Oh you are right Hugh, the rain is indeed beautiful and calming… 🙂 I don’t actually hate the rain, I quite enjoy watching the rain from inside…Lucky you! You have the option of getting a really short cut. Maybe I would get one myself if I could carry it off as well as you do… 😀 😀

      1. I’ve seen some very stunning ladies who have their hair short, and I think you’d look stunning with which ever hairstyle you have, Nishi.

        At the end of the day it is what ever makes you feel good. When ever I have my haircut it always makes me very positive and feel great (once I have showered and got all the bits of hair from the haircut off my neck).

        Apologies for the error in my first comment as well. It should have read “rain against the window” and not “train against the window.” Predictive text is my downfall sometimes.

  2. In my part of the world, rain is often accompanied by destructive wind, hail or tornados, so rain just really makes me uneasy. I do enjoy that time right AFTER the rain, however, when the storm has passed and the birds start chirping. I’ve even been known to go out and splash in the puddles just for fun. 😉

    1. Wow…sorry for the delay in reply Jen..rains in your part of the world sounds terrible..so you must all dread the rains and take extra precautions? When the storm passes the calm is definitely something to look forward to…thank you so much! ❤

Heyy...so what do you think? :)

